Cradle Mountain, Cradle Mountain-Lake St Clair National Park, Tasmania

Tasmania

Talks & Events
7 April 2018 – TAS Division Field Trip
Location: Near Maydena
Time: 8:00am – 6:30pm
Details: Field trip will feature the Mt Mueller Mine – copper-bearing sulfides hosted in Neoproterozoic carbonates; Cambrian basaltic pillow lava; basal Parmeener Supergroup diamictite; silica flour originating from Neoproterozoic dolostone; Ordovician carbonate; an early Permian hydrocarbon source rock; fossiliferous Permian marine sediments and Pleistocene stratified screes. Excursion participants are guaranteed to bag brachiopods and bryozoans! The area has great views of some of the surrounding mountain ranges.
Registration: email Phil Sansom at geoedtas@iinet.net.au advising of your interest in attending the field trip. A registration form and additional information will be then sent to you. Completed paperwork by participants will need to be received no later than 2 days before the excursion so do not delay emailing your expression of interest.

24 May 2018 – TAS Division Annual General Meeting 
Speaker: Dr Claire Kain (MRT)
Topic: Natural Hazards
Location: Main Lecture Theatre, School of Earth Sciences, University of Tasmania
Time: 6:00pm

Previous Division Meetings
22 March 2018
Speaker: Dr Adam Soule (Chief Scientist of the National Deep Submergence Facility, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institute)
Topic: Humans, Robots, and the most active volcanic systems on Earth


12 October 2017
Topic: PNG and the minerals potential of the Papuan Peninsula
Speaker: Bob Findlay

24 August 2017
Topic: Geotrourism in Tasmania
Speakers: Ralph Bottrill, Clive Calver, Keith Corbett, Peter Manchester and Andy Spate

12 July 2017
Topic: Using geophysics to empower communities to study and understand the Earth beneath their feet
Speaker: Michelle Salmon, ANU


1 June 2017
Topic: A new view on the initiation of intra-oceanic arcs: adventures in the SW Pacific and Ordovician of the Lachlan Fold Belt
Speaker: Dr. Sebastien Meffre, University of Tasmania


6 March 2017 

Topic: Where can geology take you?
Speaker: Professor Ross Large

8 November 2016
Topic: Pre-Ordovician VanDieland: a Victorian's view of western Tasmania and surrounds
Speaker: David Moore

27 October 2016
Topic: Micro-continents offshore Western Australia: implications for East Gondwana reconstructions
Speaker: Joanne Whittaker

Committee

Chair: Andrew McNeill
E: andrew.mcneill@stategrowth.tas.gov.au

Secretary: Karin Orth
E: 

karin.orth@utas.edu.au



Treasurer: Jacqui Halpin
E: jahalpin@utas.edu.au

Membership Officer: Rebecca Carey
E: rebecca.carey@utas.edu.au

Newsletter Editor
Mike Vicary
E: Mike.vicary@stategrowth.tas.gov.au

Committee Members

Matt Ferguson
E: matt.f76@gmail.com

Sebastien Meffre
E: smeffre@utas.edu.au

Jacob Mulder
E: jmulder@postoffice.utas.edu.au

Peter McGoldrick
E: P.McGoldrick@utas.edu.au

Phil Sansom
E: psansom@iinet.net.au

Grace Cumming
E: Grace.Cumming@stategrowth.tas.gov.au

Sean Johnson
E: sean.johnson@ucc.ie

Heritage representative
Clive Calver
E: clivecalver@gmail.com

Sean Johnson
E: sean.johnson@ucc.ie


Rock Garden representative
Ralph Bottrill
E: Ralph.Bottrill@dier.tas.gov.au