Baudin Rocks, off of Robe, South Australia - Image courtesy Sarah Hender

South Australia

SA Division Website
Email: info@sa.gsa.org.au

Talks & Events

Monthly Division Meetings
31 August - SA Division 'Behind-The-Scenes' Tour of the South Australian Museum
Location: South Australian Museum
Time: 2:00pm-4:00pm
Notes: This ‘behind-the-scenes’ tour of the SA Museum’s collections and exhibitions will be led by Senior Collection Manager (Earth Sciences) Ben McHenry. There will also be an opportunity to hold the world’s 2 most valuable Opals – The Virgin Rainbow and the Fire of Australia. 
 
Booking: Numbers are limited, so please book early to avoid disappointment. Please RSVP to Morgan Blades (morgan.blades@adelaide.edu.au) and for any enquiries please contact Claire Wade (clairewade82@gmail.com

7 September 2017 – SA Division Monthly Meeting (Ralph Tate Memorial Lecture)
Speaker: Prof Jim Gehling 
Topic: Eating on Ediacaran Seafloors
Location: Mawson Lecture Theatre, University of Adelaide, North Terrace
Time: 5:30 for a 6:00pm start
Note: This is a joint meeting with the Field Geology Club and RSSA

14-18 October 2018 – Australian Geoscience Council Convention: Big Issues and Ideas in Geoscience
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
This convention is hosted by the AGC and all the Australian geoscience member societies
More information is coming soon
Themes include:
- Understanding the Earth
- Life on Earth – origins and diversity
- Resources – discovery, development, use and sustainability
- Applied Geoscience in the 21st Century – innovation, technology and the future
- Beyond the Rocks – Geoscience in our society: current application and future trends
Scientific and Technical Program Convenor – Chris Yeats chris.yeats@industry.nsw.gov.au
AGC President and Convention Chair – Bill Shaw president@agc.org.au  

GESSS South Australia Registration
24 November 2017 - GESSS South Australia - Earth Sciences Student Symposium
For more information please visit the Symposium website here.
Previous Division Meetings
2 August 2017 - SA Division Annual Dinner
Speaker: Ross Large
Topic: Climate Change Through Geological Time

18 May 2017

Topic: Nuclear Waste Disposal – the Facts and the Future
Speaker:
 Ms Kyra Reznikov 
Note: This was a joint event between the SA Division and AusIMM

30 April 2017
Topic: Family picnic

20 April 2017
Topic: AGM

21 February 2017
Topic: Excursion of the Tonsley Drill Core Storage Facility

17 November 2016
Topic: The generation of ore deposits in volcanic arcs starts with sulfate metasomatism in the mantle wedge: The source of oxidised arc magmas
Speaker: Dr Andy Tomkins

20 October 2016
Topic: Student Careers Night
Speaker: Graduate speakers discuss career options and personal journeys in geoscience

Committee

Chair: Graziella Caprarelli 
E: Graziella.Caprarelli@unisa.edu.au

Vice Chair: Anna Petts (acting)
E: anna_petts@yahoo.com.au

Secretary: Morgan Blades
E: morgan.blades@adelaide.edu.au

Treasurer / Conference Administration: Claire Wade
E: claire.wade@sa.gov.au

General Committee
Brandon Alessio
E: Brandon.alessio@adelaide.edu.au

Len Altman
E: LAltman@msc.sa.edu.au

Sheree Armistead
E: sheree.armistead@adelaide.edu.au

Barry Cooper
E: barry.cooper@unisa.edu.au

John Foden
E: john.foden@adelaide.edu.au

Simon Holford
E: simon.holford@adelaide.edu.au

Sian Howard
E: sian.howard@adelaide.edu.au

Benjamin Kimpton
E: benjamin.kimpton@student.adelaide.edu.au

Drew Lubiniecki
E: drew.lubiniecki@adelaide.edu.au

Laura Morrissey
E: laura.morrisey@adelaide.edu.au

Tom Raimondo
E: tom.raimondo@unisa.edu.au

Caroline Tiddy
E: caroline.tiddy@unisa.edu.au

Mario Werner
E: mario.werner@sa.gov.au

Geological Heritage
Bob Major (Convenor), Wayne Cowley, Pam Hasenhohr, Colin Conor, Ian Lewis.

SA Stratigraphy Subcommission
Wayne Cowley (Convenor), Jim Jago

Geological education: Len Altman

Field Guide Subcommittee: Barry Cooper (Convenor), Noel Hiern (Secretary), John Cann, Colin Conor, Wayne Cowley, Jim Jago, Nick Langsford, Bob Major