Baudin Rocks, off of Robe, South Australia - Image courtesy Sarah Hender

South Australia

For questions regarding the SA Division please email morgan.blades@adelaide.edu.au

Talks & Events

Monthly Division Meetings

19 July 2018 - SA Division Lunch Time Gathering
Location: Museum of Discovery (MOD) - 
Website: https://mod.org.au/
Details and registration: Please contact SA Division Secretary Morgan Blades for more information and to register. All those with children and grandchildren are welcome to bring them along

16 August 2018 - SA Division Annual Dinner and Medal Presentations
Details: dinner, talk and presentation of the Bruce Webb and Walter Howchin Medals
Speaker: Kathryn Amos, Australian School of Petroleum, University of Adelaide
Topic: Rivers on continents on the sea floor
Location: Hyde Park Tavern, 187 King William Road, Hyde Park, SA 5061
Time: 6.30pm
Cost: $50 students and retired members, $60 full members
Tickets: Click here to register and purchase your ticket

5 December 2018 – GESSS SA
Description: The Geological Society of Australia Earth Sciences Student Symposium in South Australia (GESSS-SA) is a conference designed to allow Honours, Masters and PhD students from three South Australian universities (The University of Adelaide, Flinders University and University of South Australia) to come together and present their Earth sciences related research to the local scientific community
Location: University of Adelaide Health & Medical Sciences Building, North Terrace, Adelaide, South Australia, 5000
Time: 8:30am – 6:00pm
Abstracts: Abstract submissions close 1 September. Please click here to submit your abstract 
Register: Registrations close 4 December. Please click here to register for GESSS SA
Website: Please click here

Previous Division Meetings
7 June 2018 - Ralph Tate Memorial Lecture (joint GSA-SA Division, Field Geology Club of South Australia and Royal Society of South Australia)
Speaker: Professor Gavin Prideaux, Flinders University
Topic: How has Australian mammal evolution been shaped by environmental change, over the past 25 million years?

17 May 2018 - Joint GSA-SA Division / AusIMM Technical Meeting
Speaker: Anthony Reid, Senior Principal Geoscientist, GSSA
Topic: Stick to your books: geoscience contributions to the minerals value chain

12 May 2018 - GeoFamily Picnic (joint GSA-SA Division, AusIMM Adelaide Branch, ASEG and DPC event)
Location: Enchanted Playground, Prospect Memorial Gardens

19 April 2018
SA Division AGM

15 March 2018

Speakers: Mr Ed Lynch, Zach McLeay, Irraisha Soriano and Tamara Chambers
Details: Students get a chance to listen to graduate geologists, metallurgists and mining engineers.

15 February 2018
Speaker: Dr David Love
Topic: Earthquakes and Faults in Australia

14-18 October 2018 – Australian Geoscience Council Convention: Big Issues and Ideas in Geoscience
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
This convention is hosted by the AGC and all the Australian geoscience member societies
More information is coming soon
Themes include:
- Understanding the Earth
- Life on Earth – origins and diversity
- Resources – discovery, development, use and sustainability
- Applied Geoscience in the 21st Century – innovation, technology and the future
- Beyond the Rocks – Geoscience in our society: current application and future trends
Scientific and Technical Program Convenor – Chris Yeats chris.yeats@industry.nsw.gov.au
AGC President and Convention Chair – Bill Shaw president@agc.org.au  

Committee

Chair: Dr Wolfgang Preiss
wolfgang.preiss@sa.gov.au

Vice Chair: Position Open

Secretary: Morgan Blades
E: morgan.blades@adelaide.edu.au


Treasurer: Claire Wade
E: claire.wade@sa.gov.au

Programme Secretary: Anna Petts
E: anna_petts@yahoo.com.au

Newsletter Editor: Benjamin Kimpton
E: benjamin.kimpton@student.adelaide.edu.au

General Committee
Sheree Armistead
E: sheree.armistead@adelaide.edu.au

Barry Cooper
E: barry.cooper@unisa.edu.au

John Foden
E: john.foden@adelaide.edu.au

Caroline Tiddy
E: caroline.tiddy@unisa.edu.au

Drew Lubiniecki
E: drew.lubiniecki@adelaide.edu.au

Len Altman
E: lenaltman9@gmail.com

Rachael Mahlknecht
E: 
racheal.mahlknecht@student.adelaide.edu.au


Laura Morrissey
E: laura.morrisey@adelaide.edu.au

Mario Werner
E: mario.werner@sa.gov.au

Geological Heritage Subcommittee
Bob Major (Convenor), Wayne Cowley, Pam Hasenohr, Noel Hiern, Ian Lewis

SA Stratigraphy Subcommission
Wayne Cowley (Convenor), Jim Jago, Tania Wilson

Education Subcommittee
Len Altman (Convener), Bernd Michaelsen

Field Guide Subcommittee
Barry Cooper (Convenor), Noel Hiern (Secretary), John Cann, Colin Conor, Wayne Cowley, Jim Jago, Nick Langsford, Bob Major, Cynthia Pyle, Vic Gostin, Pat James

SA Geotourism Subcommittee
Ian Lewis (Chair), Carmen Krapf, Anna Petts, Graziella Caprarelli, Vic Gostin, Kevin Hamdorf, Mark Bishop, Alice Gorman, Phil Plummer, Pat James