Porcupine Gorge - image courtesy Warwick Willmott 

Queensland

Email: gsa.qld@gmail.com

Talks & Events

Monthly Division Meetings
Date: Fourth Tuesday of each month
Location: Transcontinental Hotel, 482 George St, Brisbane (unless specified elsewhere)

GeoPub
Weekly Informal get-together for Explorers, Miners & other Geoscientists
Date: Every Wednesday evening: GeoPub
Location: O’Malleys Irish Pub – Basement Level of the Wintergarden in the Queen Street Mall, Brisbane
Time: 5.30pm

Upcoming Events and Meetings
26 June 2018 – QLD Division Monthly Meeting 
Speaker: Nick Dyriw, PhD student, Queensland University of Technology
Topic: Seafloor massive sulphides
Location: Transcontinental Hotel, 482 George St, Brisbane— directly opposite the Roma Street Station. Meet at the back of the main bar on the ground floor for complimentary finger food — RSVP not required
Time: 5:15pm for 6:00pm


Previous Division Meetings
22 May 2018
Speaker: Dr Aldo Van Heeswijck
Topic: Insights into the Northern Galilee and Drummond Basins of Central Queensland

24 April 2018
Speaker: Ian Withnall 
Topic: Brothers-in-Arms — the War Service, Geological Careers and Legacies of Cecil Morton and Leslie Blake

27 March 2018

Speaker: Dr Simon Richards (JCU)
Topic: 
Lessons learned from the Charters Towers Gold Deposit: A case of Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde

24-25 March 2018 - Queensland Division at the World Science Festival

4 December 2017
Topic: North Queensland – a patchwork of terranes pointing to a diverse history
Speaker: Dr Laurie Hutton, Geological Survey of Queensland

28 November 2017
Speaker: Bob Close
Topic: Exploration for Besshi Type VMS deposits in Turkey

24 October 2017
Topic:  Stratigraphic controls on Late Permian sediments in the eastern Galilee Basin
Speaker: Laura Phillips

26 September 2017
Topic: Palynological records of marine incursions in the Sydney, Bowen and Galilee Basins
Speaker: Alex Wheeler

31 May 2017
Topic: Landscape, geology and Brisbane in its first two decades
Speaker: Dr Tony Webster

26 April 2017
Topic: The Capricorn Copper Project (a.k.a. Mount Gordon)
Speaker: David A-Izzeddin, Capricorn Copper Pty Ltd

Other events

4-7 June 2017 - Future understanding of tectonics, ores, resources, environment and sustainability
Location: Townsville
Notes: Hosted by the Economic Geology Research Centre (EGRU), James Cook University
For abstract submission, please visit https://www.jcu.edu.au/futores/abstract-submission
For more information, please visit: www.jcu.edu.au/futores
FUTORES II First Circular

11-14 June 2017 - Rodinia 2017: Supercontinent Cycles and Global Geodynamics 
Location: Townsville
16-21 June - Post Conference Fieldtrip: Mount Isa Terrane Transect
http://geodynamics.curtin.edu.au/rodinia-2017/
Abstracts: Due 30 March - submit to rodinia.2017@curtin.edu.au
Click here for the first circular 
Click here for the conference flier

Committee

Chair: Ian Withnall
E: iwwithnall@optusnet.com.au

Vice Chair: Aldo van Heeswijck
E: eurydesma@bigpond.com

Hon. Secretary: David Trezise
E: trezised@optusnet.com.au

Hon. Treasurer:
Friedrick von Gnielinski
E: friedrich.vongnielinski@dnrm.qld.gov.au

Membership Secretary: Aldo van Heeswijck
E: eurydesma@bigpond.com

Education Subcommittee & Awards Convenor: Laurie Hutton
E: laurie.hutton@dnrme.qld.gov.au

Newsletter Editor: David Trezise
E: trezised@optusnet.com.au 

GSA Publications: Warwick Willmott
E: willmott@powerup.com.au

Central Queensland Regional Representative: Andrew Williams
E: andy.williams@cardno.com.au

Committee Members
Mark Pirlo
E: mpirlo@yahoo.com.au

Doug Young 
E: d.young@findex.net.au

Mark Berry
E: mberry@amcconsultants.com.au
 
Bruce Anderson
E: Qldcbmgeo@hotmail.com

Tony Shellshear
E: tony@sdc.net.au

Ken O'Reilly
E: koreconsult@minserve.com.au

Patrick Hayman 
E: patrick.hayman@qut.edu.au

Nick Dyriw
E: nicholas.dyriw@hdr.qut.edu.au

Chris Taylor
E: geochristaylor@gmail.com

Shaun Anderson
E: shaun.anderson6788@gmail.com