Porcupine Gorge - image courtesy Warwick Willmott 

Queensland

Email: gsa.qld@gmail.com

Talks & Events

Monthly Division Meetings
Date: Fourth Tuesday of each month
Location: Transcontinental Hotel, 482 George St, Brisbane (unless specified elsewhere)

GeoPub
Weekly Informal get-together for Explorers, Miners & other Geoscientists
Date: Every Wednesday evening: GeoPub
Location: O’Malleys Irish Pub – Basement Level of the Wintergarden in the Queen Street Mall, Brisbane
Time: 5.30pm

Upcoming Meetings
31 May 2017 - Queensland Division Meeting: Student Awards Night and Retiring Chair’s Address
Topic: Landscape, geology and Brisbane in its first two decades.
Speaker: Dr Tony Webster
Location: 
Captains’ Room, Broncos Leagues Club 92 Fulcher Road, Red Hill
Time: Drinks and savouries will be served from 5:30pm. The awards ceremony will commence at 6:15pm followed by the GSAQ Retiring Chair’s address and the students and their families. The evening should conclude at about 7:30pm
Notes: Tony has stood down as Chair of the Division, and is shortly moving back to Tasmania. This is an opportunity to say goodbye to Tony, thank him for his contribution to the Division and wish him well for the future.


GESSS QLD Registration
3 November 2017 - GESSS QLD - Earth Sciences Student Symposium
For more information please visit the Symposium website here
Previous Division Meetings
26 April 2017
Topic: The Capricorn Copper Project (a.k.a. Mount Gordon)
Speaker: David A-Izzeddin, Capricorn Copper Pty Ltd

September 2016
Topic: Use and abuse of geology in environmental work
Speaker: Ian Wilson

27 July 2016
Topic: Research into Queensland's coal basins
Speaker: Joan Esterle

26 April 2016
Topic: The Capricorn Copper Project (a.k.a. Mount Gordon)
Speaker: David A-Izzeddin, Capricorn Copper Pty Ltd
Other events

4-7 June 2017 - Future understanding of tectonics, ores, resources, environment and sustainability
Location: Townsville
Notes: Hosted by the Economic Geology Research Centre (EGRU), James Cook University
For abstract submission, please visit https://www.jcu.edu.au/futores/abstract-submission
For more information, please visit: www.jcu.edu.au/futores
FUTORES II First Circular

11-14 June 2017 - Rodinia 2017: Supercontinent Cycles and Global Geodynamics 
Location: Townsville
16-21 June - Post Conference Fieldtrip: Mount Isa Terrane Transect
http://geodynamics.curtin.edu.au/rodinia-2017/
Abstracts: Due 30 March - submit to rodinia.2017@curtin.edu.au
Click here for the first circular 
Click here for the conference flier

Committee

Chair: Vacant

Honorary Secretary: Ian Withnall
E: iwwithnall@optusnet.com.au

Treasurer:
Friedrick von Gnielinski
E: friedrich.vongnielinski@dnrm.qld.gov.au

Membership Secretary: Aldo van Heeswijck
E: eurydesma@bigpond.com

Education Subcommittee & Awards Convenor: Laurie Hutton
E: laurie.hutton@dnrm.qld.gov.au

Newsletter Editor: Ian Withnall
E: iwwithnall@optusnet.com.au

GSA Publications: Warwick Willmott
E: willmott@powerup.com.au

Central Queensland Regional Representative: Andrew Williams
E: andy.williams@cardno.com.au

Committee Members
Mark Pirlo
E: mpirlo@yahoo.com.au

Doug Young 
E: d.young@findex.net.au

Mark Berry
E: mberry@amcconsultants.com.au
 
Tony Shellshear
E: tony@sdc.net.au

David Trezise
E: trezised@optusnet.com.au


Lloyd Hamilton 
E: l.h.hamilton@bigpond.com


Patrick Hayman 
E: patrick.hayman@qut.edu.au

Nick Dyriw
E: nicholas.dyriw@hdr.qut.edu.au