Porcupine Gorge - image courtesy Warwick Willmott 

Queensland

Email: gsa.qld@gmail.com

Talks & Events

Monthly Division Meetings
Date: Fourth Tuesday of each month
Location: Transcontinental Hotel, 482 George St, Brisbane (unless specified elsewhere)

GeoPub
Weekly Informal get-together for Explorers, Miners & other Geoscientists
Date: Every Wednesday evening: GeoPub
Location: O’Malleys Irish Pub – Basement Level of the Wintergarden in the Queen Street Mall, Brisbane
Time: 5.30pm

29 March 2017 - Queensland Division Meeting: 2017 AK Denmead Memorial Lecture
Topic: The Deep Mining Queensland Project and future research by the BRC Geology group
Speaker: Professor Rick Valenta (newly appointed Program Leader — Geology, at the WH Bryan Mining & Geology Research Centre, Sustainable Minerals Institute, The University of Queensland)
Time: 5:15 pm for 6:00 pm
Location: Transcontinental Hotel, 482 George St, Brisbane — directly opposite the Roma Street Station (Meet at the back of the main bar on the ground floor for complimentary finger food — RSVP not required)
Abstract: The Deep Mining Queensland (DMQ) project, a 2 year project that commenced in April 2015, is part of the Queensland State Government’s investment in priority geoscience projects identified by the mining and petroleum industries. The initiative is part of the Geological Survey of Queensland's (GSQ) Future Resources Program. The Queensland Exploration Council, the Association of Mining and Exploration Companies and the Australian Petroleum Production and Exploration Association were consulted to identify priority projects that they believed would make the greatest contribution to maximising exploration success in Queensland. Project proposals were technically evaluated by a panel of GSQ experts. The DMQ project represents a holistic approach to resource prospectivity, from discovery through to an assessment of ‘mineability’, and is focussing on the highly endowed Cloncurry Cu-Au district (totalling 8,743km2). In the DMQ project, a new geophysically-constrained 4D regional geological interpretation and model has been analysed in conjunction with characteristics of known deposits from the southern Cloncurry belt in order to identify and map the geological features which are important not only for the localisation of mineralisation, but also for the preferential formation of deposits potentially amenable to deep bulk mining.

26 April 2017 - Queensland Division Meeting: April Technical Talk and 2017 AGM
Topic: The Capricorn Copper Project (a.k.a. Mount Gordon)
Speaker: David A-Izzeddin, Capricorn Copper Pty Ltd (to be confirmed)
Time: 5:15 pm for 6:00 pm
Location: Transcontinental Hotel, 482 George St, Brisbane — directly opposite the Roma Street Station (Meet at the back of the main bar on the ground floor for complimentary finger food — RSVP not required)
Note: The talk will be preceded by a short Annual general Meeting of the Queensland Division with delivery of brief reports by the Chairman and Treasurer and election of the committee for 2017–18. See nomination forms attached to The Queensland Geologist newsletter.

Previous Division Meetings
27 September 2016
Topic: Use and abuse of geology in environmental work
Speaker: Ian Wilson

27 July 2016
Topic: Research into Queensland's coal basins
Speaker: Joan Esterle

26 April 2016
Topic: Accretionary Orogens in the Queensland Sector of the Tasmanides
Speaker: Ian Withnall

4-7 June 2017 - Future understanding of tectonics, ores, resources, environment and sustainability
Location: Townsville
Notes: Hosted by the Economic Geology Research Centre (EGRU), James Cook University
For abstract submission, please visit https://www.jcu.edu.au/futores/abstract-submission
For more information, please visit: www.jcu.edu.au/futores
FUTORES II First Circular

11-14 June 2017 - Rodinia 2017: Supercontinent Cycles and Global Geodynamics 
Location: Townsville
16-21 June - Post Conference Fieldtrip: Mount Isa Terrane Transect
http://geodynamics.curtin.edu.au/rodinia-2017/
Abstracts: Due 30 March - submit to rodinia.2017@curtin.edu.au
Click here for the first circular 
Click here for the conference flier

Committee

Chair: Tony Webster
E: a.webster2@uq.edu.au

Vice-Chair: Mark Pirlo
E: mpirlo@yahoo.com.au

Honorary Secretary: Ian Withnall
E: iwwithnall@optusnet.com.au

Webmaster: Paul Blake
E: paul.blake@dnrm.qld.gov.au

Treasurer, Video Library, & EKKA Subcommittee chair:
Friedrick von Gnielinski
E: friedrich.vongnielinski@dnrm.qld.gov.au

Membership Secretary: Aldo van Heeswijck
E: eurydesma@bigpond.com

Education Subcommittee & Awards Convenor: Laurie Hutton
E: laurie.hutton@dnrm.qld.gov.au

Newsletter Editor: Ian Withnall
E: iwwithnall@optusnet.com.au

GSA Publications: Warwick Willmott
E: willmott@powerup.com.au

Central Queensland Regional Representative: Andrew Williams
E: andy.williams@cardno.com.au

Committee Members
Doug Young 
E: d.young@findex.net.au

Mark Berry
E: mberry@amcconsultants.com.au
 
Tony Shellshear
E: tony@sdc.net.au

David Trezise
E: trezised@optusnet.com.au


Lloyd Hamilton 
E: l.h.hamilton@bigpond.com


Patrick Hayman 
E: patrick.hayman@qut.edu.au