Porcupine Gorge - image courtesy Warwick Willmott 

Queensland

Email: gsa.qld@gmail.com

Talks & Events

Monthly Division Meetings
Date: Fourth Tuesday of each month
Location: Transcontinental Hotel, 482 George St, Brisbane (unless specified elsewhere)

GeoPub
Weekly Informal get-together for Explorers, Miners & other Geoscientists
Date: Every Wednesday evening: GeoPub
Location: O’Malleys Irish Pub – Basement Level of the Wintergarden in the Queen Street Mall, Brisbane
Time: 5.30pm

Upcoming Meetings and Events

28 November 2017 – QLD Division Monthly Meeting
Speaker: Bob Close
Topic:
Exploration for Besshi Type VMS deposits in Turkey
Location: Transcontinental Hotel, George St, Brisbane near Roma St Station
Time: 5:15pm

4 December 2017 - QLD Division Meeting
Topic: North Queensland – a patchwork of terranes pointing to a diverse history
Speaker: Dr Laurie Hutton, Geological Survey of Queensland
Location: The North Queensland Club, 146 Denham St, Townsville
Time: 6:00pm (Complimentary catering from 5.30pm, cash bar available)

Previous Division Meetings
24 October 2017
Topic:  Stratigraphic controls on Late Permian sediments in the eastern Galilee Basin
Speaker: Laura Phillips


26 September 2017
Topic: Palynological records of marine incursions in the Sydney, Bowen and Galilee Basins
Speaker: Alex Wheeler

31 May 2017
Topic: Landscape, geology and Brisbane in its first two decades
Speaker: Dr Tony Webster


26 April 2017
Topic: The Capricorn Copper Project (a.k.a. Mount Gordon)
Speaker: David A-Izzeddin, Capricorn Copper Pty Ltd

September 2016
Topic: Use and abuse of geology in environmental work
Speaker: Ian Wilson

27 July 2016
Topic: Research into Queensland's coal basins
Speaker: Joan Esterle
Other events

4-7 June 2017 - Future understanding of tectonics, ores, resources, environment and sustainability
Location: Townsville
Notes: Hosted by the Economic Geology Research Centre (EGRU), James Cook University
For abstract submission, please visit https://www.jcu.edu.au/futores/abstract-submission
For more information, please visit: www.jcu.edu.au/futores
FUTORES II First Circular

11-14 June 2017 - Rodinia 2017: Supercontinent Cycles and Global Geodynamics 
Location: Townsville
16-21 June - Post Conference Fieldtrip: Mount Isa Terrane Transect
http://geodynamics.curtin.edu.au/rodinia-2017/
Abstracts: Due 30 March - submit to rodinia.2017@curtin.edu.au
Click here for the first circular 
Click here for the conference flier

Committee

Chair: Vacant

Honorary Secretary: Ian Withnall
E: iwwithnall@optusnet.com.au

Treasurer:
Friedrick von Gnielinski
E: friedrich.vongnielinski@dnrm.qld.gov.au

Membership Secretary: Aldo van Heeswijck
E: eurydesma@bigpond.com

Education Subcommittee & Awards Convenor: Laurie Hutton
E: laurie.hutton@dnrm.qld.gov.au

Newsletter Editor: Ian Withnall
E: iwwithnall@optusnet.com.au

GSA Publications: Warwick Willmott
E: willmott@powerup.com.au

Central Queensland Regional Representative: Andrew Williams
E: andy.williams@cardno.com.au

Committee Members
Mark Pirlo
E: mpirlo@yahoo.com.au

Doug Young 
E: d.young@findex.net.au

Mark Berry
E: mberry@amcconsultants.com.au
 
Tony Shellshear
E: tony@sdc.net.au

David Trezise
E: trezised@optusnet.com.au


Lloyd Hamilton 
E: l.h.hamilton@bigpond.com


Patrick Hayman 
E: patrick.hayman@qut.edu.au

Nick Dyriw
E: nicholas.dyriw@hdr.qut.edu.au