12 - 13 October 2021 - GSA Neo 

Details: Join us during Earth Science Week for two online sessions of workshops, presentations and panel discussions designed to give Early Career Geoscientists the competitive edge, increase confidence and expand their community.  Being an Early Career Geoscientist in the Earth Sciences is not always easy. Entering the workforce and progressing in your career can be difficult without transferable skills, so valuable in the workplace but hard to learn on your own. You can also feel lost when navigating the complex intersection between academia, government and industry.  GSA NEO is a new initiative from the Geological Society of Australia designed to provide Early Career Geoscientist new skills, new knowledge and new confidence for the workplace
 Over two afternoon sessions, a mix of professional trainers, geoscience leaders and ECG panellists will discuss:
Selling yourself – hone your pitch for job applications, interviews and presentations
Overcoming adversity – build resilience and triumph through challenges
Developing relationships – improve your networking skills and bring people together
Inspire you – learn how other professionals got ahead and found success
Time:
12.00pm - 2.30pm AEDT (ACT, NSW, TAS, VIC), 11.30am - 2.00pm AEDT (SA), 11.00am - 1.30pm AEST (QLD), 10.30am - 1.00pm AEDT (NT), 9.00am - 11.30am WST (WA)
Support: GSA Neo is sponsored by Geoscience Australia 
Cost: 
GSA members Geoscience Australia staff attend for free, non-members attend for $20
Registrations: Click here

Virtual GESSS

29-30 November 2021 - Virtual GESSS
Details: Virtual GESSS 2021 will be held online over two 2-hour sessions on the 29 and 30 November. Presentations will given by earth science students across multiple fields and will be either 10 minutes (8 minutes talk plus 2 minutes Q&A) or 3 minutes (2 minutes talk plus 1 minutes Q&A) each in duration.
Time: 
1.00pm - 3.00pm AEDT (ACT, NSW, Tas, Vic)
12.30pm - 2.30pm ACDT (SA)
12.00pm - 2.00pm AEST (QLD)
11.30am - 1.30pm ACST (NT)
10.00am - 1.00pm WST (WA)
Support: Virtual GESSS is sponsored by Geoscience Australia 
Cost: Students, GSA members and Geoscience Australia staff attend for free. All other members of the public can attend for just $10.00
Abstract submissions: Click here to submit before Friday 22 October. Submissions are open to any students conducting research on Earth Sciences, including undergraduates, honours and postgraduates
Keynote Presenters: 
Morgan Cox (Curtin University)
Sarah Kachovich (ANU)
Registrations: Click here

 

Member Benefits
Join us today and become a part of our growing community. Start enjoying the benefits of membership:

  • Instant connections to our growing community of members
  • Discounts on products and events
  • Subscription to an internationally recognised peer-reviewed scientific journal, The Australian Journal of Earth Sciences
  • An alternative subscription choice of Alcheringa
  • ... and much more!