bluecurve
About the GSA Site Map Contact Us Disclaimer Home
logobottom
j
imagecurve1
imagecurve1
imagecurve1
Divisions
South Australia

Click here for the May Newsletter.

www.sa.gsa.org.au
Email: info@sa.gsa.org.au

Webb and Howchin Medals


The Bruce Webb Medal may be awarded annually to a person distinguished for leadership
that has advanced the earth sciences and/or contributions to the advance of knowledge within
the earth sciences. The award will be made in regard to achievements associated with South
Australia.

The 2015 recipient of the Bruce Webb Medal is Jim Jago


The Walter Howchin Medal may be awarded annually to a researcher in the early stage
of their research careers who is distinguished by their significant published research work
within the earth sciences. Research contributions are judged on the quality, originality and
recognition. Researchers should be 35 years of age or younger.

The 2015 recipient of the Walter Howchin Medal is Rian Dutch.

Next Meeting

Thursday 12 May, 2016, Adelaide
Joint meeting with the AusIMM Adelaide Branch
Speaker: Justin Gum
Topic: Expanded Horizons in Bulong, WA
Venue: Historian Hotel, 18 Coromandel Place Adelaide @ noon.

Saturday 14 May, 2016, Adelaide
GeoFamily Day
The second jointly-held GeoFamily Picnic
Activities and a sausage sizzle will be provided, plus a special ‘Can You Find’ Nature Walk
for families to take part in for prizes.
Where: Apex Park Wetlands and Playground, West Beach
Time: 9 am to 1 pm.

Thursday 4 June, 2016, Adelaide
Ralph Tate Memborial Lecture
Joint meeting with the Field Geology Club of South Australia
Speaker: Vic Gostin
Venue: Mawson Lecture Theatre, University of Adelaide
Time: 7.00pm

Thursday 21 July, 2016, Adelaide
GeoNight at the Pub: Discussion panel
Topic: How can we improve the AESC experience
Details to follow

Committee

Chair
Anna Petts
Email: anna_petts@yahoo.com.au

Vice Chair
Vacant

Secretary
Morgan Blades
Email: morgan.blades@adelaide.edu.au

Treasurer / Conference Administration
Claire Wade
Email: clairewade@adam.com.au

Newsletter
Simon Holford
Email: simon.holford@adelaide.edu.au

Web Page Editor
Robert Dart
Email:
rcdart@internode.on.net

General Commitee
Len Alman, LAltman@msc.sa.edu.au
Barry Cooper, barry.cooper@unisa.edu.au
John Foden, john.foden@adelaide.edu.au
Caroline Forbes caroline.forbes@adelaide.edu.au
Simon Holford, simon.holford@adelaide.edu.au
Benjamin Kimpton benjamin.kimpton@student.adelaide.edu.au
Richard Lilly, richardlilly@hotmail.com
Gunther Longueville, glongueville@hotmail.com
Tom Raimondo, tom.raimondo@unisa.edu.au
Mick Roche, mick.roche@stewardshipmatters.com
Heather Duff, Student representative, heather.duff@student.adelaide.edu.au

Geological Heritage
Bob Major (Convenor),Wayne Cowley, Pam Hasenhohr, Colin Conor, Ian Lewis.

SA Stratigraphy Subcommission

Wayne Cowley (Convenor), Jim Jago

Geological education:
Len Altman

Field Guide Subcommittee
: Barry Cooper (Convenor), Noel Hiern (Secretary), John Cann, Colin Conor,
Wayne Cowley, Jim Jago, Nick Langsford, Bob Major

Field Brochures
Brachina Gorge Geological Trail

The GSA SA Division is pleased to announce the publication of the new field guide for Brachina Gorge
and surrounding areas, the 9th in the continuing series of South Australian Geology Field Brochures.
The Guide was prepared by Noel Hiern of the GSA SA Divsion and the Field Guide Subcommittee.
Download a copy of the guide here
For further details on this series of field guides please visit the GSA SA website


Robe Geological Trail

The GSA SA Division is pleased to announce the publication of the new field guide for Robe
and surrounding areas, the 8th in the continuing series of South Australian Geology Field
Brochures. The guide was prepared by John Cann of the GSA SA Division and the Field Guide
Subcommittee.
Download a copy of the guide here
For further details on this series of field guides please visit the GSA SA website

 

Did you miss the 12th SA Exploration and Mining Conference?
You can download the presentations from the website.
For more information <click here>

Home Top
© 2011 Geological Society of Australia Incorporated
Please email any comments, suggestions or problems with the site to info@gsa.org.au or write/ring:
Suite 8, Front Office, Level 2, 141 Peats Ferry Road, Hornsby, NSW 2077 AUSTRALIA

Tel 02 9290 2194 Fax 02 9290 2198 International Tel +61 2 9290 2194 International Fax +61 2 9290 2198