bluecurve
About the GSA Site Map Contact Us Disclaimer Home
logobottom
imagecurve1
imagecurve1
imagecurve1
Divisions
South Australia

Click here for the June Newsletter.

www.sa.gsa.org.au
Email: info@sa.gsa.org.au

Webb and Howchin Medals - Call for Nominations

Nominations for the Bruce Webb and Walter Howchin Medals in 2015 should be made to the
Divisional Secretary by 1 July 2015. Nominations will remain current for a period of five years.
Nominees do not need to be a GSA member. Unsuccessful nominations made in previous years
remain current. Details of both awards are as follows:

The Bruce Webb Medal may be awarded annually to a person distinguished for leadership
that has advanced the earth sciences and/or contributions to the advance of knowledge within
the earth sciences. The award will be made in regard to achievements associated with South
Australia.

The Walter Howchin Medal may be awarded annually to a researcher in the early stage
of their research careers who is distinguished by their significant published research work
within the earth sciences. Research contributions are judged on the quality, originality and
recognition. Researchers should be 35 years of age or younger.

Contact the Divisional Secretary morgan.blades@adelaide.edu.au

New Field Brochure – Robe Geological Trail

The GSA SA Division is pleased to announce the publication of the new field guide for Robe
and surrounding areas, the 8th in the continuing series of South Australian Geology Field
Brochures. The guide was prepared by John Cann of the GSA SA Division and the Field Guide
Subcommittee.
Download a copy of the guide here
For further details on this series of field guides please visit the GSA SA website

 

Next Meeting

16 July 2015, Adelaide
The Cloncurry District Mineral System; an IOCG Exploration Perspective
Speaker: Dr Richard Lilly
Venue: Mawson Lecture Theatre, University of Adelaide

20 August 2015, Adelaide
GSA SA Annual Dinner

Guest speaker: Prof Sandy Steacy, Head of the School of Physical Sciences,
the University of Adelaide
There will also be a presentation of the Bruce Webb and Walter Howchin Medals
Venue: Historian Hotel
Details on how to register for this event will be circulated shortly

Committee

Chair
Anna Petts
Email: apetts@flindersmines.com

Vice Chair
Vacant

Secretary
Morgan Blades
Email: morgan.blades@adelaide.edu.au

Treasurer / Conference Administration
Claire Wade
Email: clairewade@adam.com.au

Programme Secretary
Kevin Wills
Email: kevin.wills@adelaide.edu.au

Newsletter
Simon Holford
Email: simon.holford@adelaide.edu.au

Web Page Editor
Robert Dart
Email:
rcdart@internode.on.net

General Commitee
Len Alman, LAltman@msc.sa.edu.au
Barry Cooper, barry.cooper@unisa.edu.au
John Foden, john.foden@adelaide.edu.au
Caroline Forbes caroline.forbes@adelaide.edu.au
Simon Holford, simon.holford@adelaide.edu.au
Benjamin Kimpton benjamin.kimpton@student.adelaide.edu.au
Richard Lilly, richardlilly@hotmail.com
Gunther Longueville, glongueville@hotmail.com
Tom Raimondo, tom.raimondo@unisa.edu.au
Mick Roche, mick.roche@stewardshipmatters.com
Heather Duff, Student representative, heather.duff@student.adelaide.edu.au

Geological Heritage
Bob Major (Convenor),Wayne Cowley, Pam Hasenhohr, Colin Conor, Ian Lewis.

SA Stratigraphy Subcommission

Wayne Cowley (Convenor), Jim Jago

Geological education:
Len Altman

Field Guide Subcommittee
: Barry Cooper (Convenor), Noel Hiern (Secretary), John Cann, Colin Conor,
Wayne Cowley, Jim Jago, Nick Langsford, Bob Major

Home Top
© 2011 Geological Society of Australia Incorporated
Please email any comments, suggestions or problems with the site to info@gsa.org.au or write/ring:
Suite 61, 104 Bathurst Street, Sydney NSW 2000 AUSTRALIA

Tel 02 9290 2194 Fax 02 9290 2198 International Tel +61 2 9290 2194 International Fax +61 2 9290 2198