bluecurve
About the GSA Site Map Contact Us Disclaimer Home
logobottom
j
imagecurve1
imagecurve1
imagecurve1
Divisions
South Australia

Click here for the August Newsletter.

www.sa.gsa.org.au
Email: info@sa.gsa.org.au

Webb and Howchin Medals

Nominations for the Bruce Webb and Walter Howchin Medals in 2016 should be made to the Divisional Secretary by 1 July 2016. Nominations will remain current for a period of five years. Nominees do not need to be a GSA member. Unsuccessful nominations made in previous years remain current. Details of both awards are as follows:

The Bruce Webb Medal may be awarded annually to a person distinguished for leadership
that has advanced the earth sciences and/or contributions to the advance of knowledge within
the earth sciences. The award will be made in regard to achievements associated with South
Australia.

The 2015 recipient of the Bruce Webb Medal is Jim Jago


The Walter Howchin Medal may be awarded annually to a researcher in the early stage
of their research careers who is distinguished by their significant published research work
within the earth sciences. Research contributions are judged on the quality, originality and
recognition. Researchers should be 35 years of age or younger.

The 2015 recipient of the Walter Howchin Medal is Rian Dutch.

Next Meeting

Thursday 4 August, 2016, Adelaide
Ralph Tate Memorial Lecture
Joint meeting with the Field Geology Club of South Australia and the Royal Society of South Australia.
Speaker: Vic Gostin
Venue: Mawson Lecture Theatre, University of Adelaide
Time: Drinks and nibbles from 5-6 pm, lecture from 6-7 pm

Monday 8 August, 2016, Adelaide
AUSEG Student Chapter & GSA SA Division Joint Lecture.
Joint meeting with the AUSEG Student Chapter.
Speaker: Dr Kathy Ehrig.
Venue: Mawson Lecture Theatre, University of Adelaide
Time: 7.00pm

Thursday 22 September, 2016, Adelaide
Annual Dinner and Award of Webb & Howchin Medals
Hyde Park Tavern, King William Road, Hyde Park. More information will be included in the August newsletter.
Ticket price will be $50 per person for a three course meal. Drinks not included.
Contact Secretary Morgan Blades for more information.

Thursday, 20th October 2016, Adelaide
Student Careers Night Joint Meeting with the Adelaide University Geological Society.
Graduate speakers will discuss career options and personal journeys in geoscience.
More information in the next newsletter.

2 December, Adelaide
13th South Australia Exploration and Mining Conference
Website: http://saexplorers.com.au/
For more information <click here>

Committee

Chair
Anna Petts
Email: anna_petts@yahoo.com.au

Vice Chair
Vacant

Secretary
Morgan Blades
Email: morgan.blades@adelaide.edu.au

Treasurer / Conference Administration
Claire Wade
Email: clairewade@adam.com.au

Newsletter
Simon Holford
Email: simon.holford@adelaide.edu.au

Web Page Editor
Robert Dart
Email:
rcdart@internode.on.net

General Commitee
Len Alman, LAltman@msc.sa.edu.au
Barry Cooper, barry.cooper@unisa.edu.au
John Foden, john.foden@adelaide.edu.au
Caroline Forbes caroline.forbes@adelaide.edu.au
Simon Holford, simon.holford@adelaide.edu.au
Benjamin Kimpton benjamin.kimpton@student.adelaide.edu.au
Richard Lilly, richardlilly@hotmail.com
Gunther Longueville, glongueville@hotmail.com
Tom Raimondo, tom.raimondo@unisa.edu.au
Mick Roche, mick.roche@stewardshipmatters.com
Heather Duff, Student representative, heather.duff@student.adelaide.edu.au

Geological Heritage
Bob Major (Convenor),Wayne Cowley, Pam Hasenhohr, Colin Conor, Ian Lewis.

SA Stratigraphy Subcommission

Wayne Cowley (Convenor), Jim Jago

Geological education:
Len Altman

Field Guide Subcommittee
: Barry Cooper (Convenor), Noel Hiern (Secretary), John Cann, Colin Conor,
Wayne Cowley, Jim Jago, Nick Langsford, Bob Major

Field Brochures
Brachina Gorge Geological Trail

The GSA SA Division is pleased to announce the publication of the new field guide for Brachina Gorge
and surrounding areas, the 9th in the continuing series of South Australian Geology Field Brochures.
The Guide was prepared by Noel Hiern of the GSA SA Divsion and the Field Guide Subcommittee.
Download a copy of the guide here
For further details on this series of field guides please visit the GSA SA website


Robe Geological Trail

The GSA SA Division is pleased to announce the publication of the new field guide for Robe
and surrounding areas, the 8th in the continuing series of South Australian Geology Field
Brochures. The guide was prepared by John Cann of the GSA SA Division and the Field Guide
Subcommittee.
Download a copy of the guide here
For further details on this series of field guides please visit the GSA SA website

 

Did you miss the 12th SA Exploration and Mining Conference?
You can download the presentations from the website.
For more information <click here>

Home Top
© 2011 Geological Society of Australia Incorporated
Please email any comments, suggestions or problems with the site to info@gsa.org.au or write/ring:
Suite 8, Front Office, Level 2, 141 Peats Ferry Road, Hornsby, NSW 2077 AUSTRALIA

Tel 02 9290 2194 Fax 02 9290 2198 International Tel +61 2 9290 2194 International Fax +61 2 9290 2198