About the GSA Site Map Contact Us Disclaimer Home


New South Wales

Powering Sydney into the Future: the science of Alternative Energy
A GSA Public Forum

When: Monday, 17 August 2015
Time: 6.30pm
Where: Wesley Conference Centre, 220 Pitt Street, Sydney
This event is part of the Sydney Science Festival held during National Science Week 2015.
Moderator: Robyn Williams,
ABC science journalist and broadcaster will moderate a discussion
between a panel of leading scientists representing a cross-section of industry experts in their field.

Panelists include:
Prof. Mary O’Kane, NSW Chief Scientist and Engineer
Prof. Ben Hankamer
, University of Queensland, Director of Solar Biofuels Consortium
Dr Gary Ellem, Tom Farrell Institute
Tony Irwin
, Technical Director, SNR Nuclear Technology
Scientia Professor Deo Prassad, CEO of the CRC for Low Carbon Living

COST: $15 per person, $40 for a family (2 adults and 2 children)
Discounts are available for school groups on request. Call 0417 498 881.
Join us for a stimulating evening!
Tickets are available through Eventbrite
For more information <click here>
Flyer <click here>



Next meeting

21 - 22 August 2015, Sydney
GSA NSW Division, AIG NSW Branch, SMEDG
Seminar & Workshop: Geochemistry – Vectoring to Mineralisation

Venue: University of New South Wales, Kensington
Time: 8.00am – 4.30pm (for traffic/parking reasons mainly)
For more information <click here>

Annual GSA-NSW Division Honours Night

The NSW division of the Geological Society of Australia holds an annual Honours Night
where the best earth science honours students from around NSW universities present
their research to the society.

Erin Martin (University of Newcastle)
Kieran Jay Lowe (University of Wollongong)
Rhiannon Garrett (University of Sydney)
Erica Barlow (University of New South Wales) - best presentation of the night

Emma Flannery (Macquarie University) - best presentation of the night
Lydia Belford (University of Newcastle)
Ryan Manton (University of Wollongong)
Timothy Chapman (University of Sydney)
Amanda Hanani (University of New South Wales)

Rathini Mahendian (University of Technology, Sydney)
Jessica Cope (University of New South Wales)
Andrew Merdith (University of Sydney)
Paul Connolly (University of Wollongong)
Patrick Carr (Macquarie University)

Emily Bathgate (University of Technology, Sydney)
Brigette Martel and Jak McCarroll (University of New South Wales)
Sabin Zahirovic (University of Sydney)
Chris Firth (Macquarie University)


Dr Ian Graham
School of Biological, Earth and Environmental Sciences, UNSW
Tel: 02 9385 8720

Dr Dioni Cendon
ANSTO, Lucas Heights
Tel: 02 9717 3937

Dane Burkett

Newletter Editor
Mira van der Ley
School of Biological, Earth and Environmental Sciences, UNSW

Home Top
© 2011 Geological Society of Australia Incorporated
Please email any comments, suggestions or problems with the site to or write/ring:
Suite 61, 104 Bathurst Street, Sydney NSW 2000 AUSTRALIA

Tel 02 9290 2194 Fax 02 9290 2198 International Tel +61 2 9290 2194 International Fax +61 2 9290 2198