About the GSA Site Map Contact Us Disclaimer Home
GSA Policies
About the GSA

The Geological Society of Australia was established as a non-profit organisation in 1952 to promote, advance and support Earth sciences in Australia.

Key strategies are to:

cater for a wide diversity of members.
influence the decision making processes of government, particularly to support geoscience research and teaching.
encourage and promote wider community awareness and application of Earth sciences.
provide media and forums for communication in the Earth sciences.

The Society 's members represent all Earth science professions, including geologists, geophysicists, geochemists, palaeontologists, geotechnical and engineering geologists, environmental geologists, and associated professions. Members come from the minerals and petroleum industries, government departments, research and education institutions and consultancy groups.

The GSA is managed by a National Executive, with an administration office in Sydney. Standing Committees provide an important focus for national issues.

The Society has a Division in each state and territory, as well as branches in the Hunter Valley and Broken Hill. Regular meetings are held Australia-wide, at which Members may keep in touch with scientific developments, present the results of their work and contribute to discussions on vocational and scientific topics. Specialist Groups cater to different sectors of the Earth sciences.

The GSA publishes journals and periodicals for Earth scientists and the wider community. AJES, The Australian Journal of Earth Sciences, is the official journal of the Geological Society of Australia, and publishes papers on all aspects of earth science. TAG, The Australian Geologist, is GSA's quarterly member magazine which includes technical and special features, society news, conference details, regular reports, book reviews and other items of interest to Earth scientists. The e-zine, geoz is an Australian Earth sciences news service available free to members and non-members.

The Society encourages and recognises excellence in the Earth sciences through awards such as the WR Browne, Medal, Carey Medal, Joe Harms Medal and FL Stillwell Award, as well as Divisional and Specialist Group awards for outstanding scientific contributions.

We are a member of the Australian Geoscience Council, through which we maintain communication with the Federation of Australian Scientific and Technological Societies, who represent scientific societies to the Australian Federal Government. We also make submissions on national issues on behalf of the Australian Earth science community.

Home Top
© 2011 Geological Society of Australia Incorporated
Please email any comments, suggestions or problems with the site to or write/ring:
Suite 61, 104 Bathurst Street, Sydney NSW 2000 AUSTRALIA

Tel 02 9290 2194 Fax 02 9290 2198 International Tel +61 2 9290 2194 International Fax +61 2 9290 2198